News Ticker

When Last We…..


When last we were together….

I should have held you closer
Kissed away your tears
Quieted your fears
and assured you
That everything
would be alright.

When last we made love,
I should have been
More sensitive to your desires
Matched your passion with more passion,
And shared ever so deeply
The love that was so obviously you.
 
Too afraid to care, to love,
I did none of these things.
Instead I ran away,
Guarded my feelings,
Put another brick in the wall
And locked my heart away.
Thinking I would be safe.
 
But there is no solace here,
No safe haven, no place to hide.
Only memories of near misses
And things I should have done better.
 
When last we were together,
I should have held you closer,
Kissed away your tears,
Quieted your fears
And assured you
That everything
Would be alright.
 

Tenthltr2u © 2010

About tenthltr2u (999 Articles)
A child of the 60's I often feel out of place in the world as it exist today. Too much excess, too much materialism, too few people who genuinely care or give a damn. It is only with the heart that one can see rightly; what is essential is invisible to the eye. Antoine de Saint-Exupery

Leave a Reply

