News Ticker

A Women Who Loves


A women who loves
impossible men
sits a long time indoors
watching windows
she has no brother
who understands
where she is going
her sisters offer their
own breast up, full and
creamy vessels but she
cannot drink because
she loves impossible men.
A woman who loves
impossible men
listens to music
she cannot sing
she drinks good sherry
swallowing around the notes
rusted in her throat
but she does not fill
she is already full
of love for impossible men.
A women who loves
impossible men
promises each morning
that she will take this day in her hands
disrobe it, lie with it, learn to love it
but she doesn’t
she walks by strangers
walks by kin
forgets their birthmarks
their birthdays
remembering only the names
the stains
of impossible men.

Clifton-200

Lucille Clifton

Love wisely, live life to the fullest, make the impossible possible
but most importantly be true to yourself in the process.
Peace,
Tenthltr2u
About tenthltr2u (1046 Articles)
A child of the 60's I often feel out of place in the world as it exist today. Too much excess, too much materialism, too few people who genuinely care or give a damn. It is only with the heart that one can see rightly; what is essential is invisible to the eye. Antoine de Saint-Exupery

10 Comments on A Women Who Loves

  1. Well….
     
    that could very well have been me who wrote that one! Impossible men!
     
    Grrrrr…
     
    lams
     

    Like

  2. Oh my… to close.. far far to close..
    learning is rough when it stairs you right in the face.. but never to late to change directions..I hope.. 😉
     

    Like

  3. The more impossible the man, the more he needs a womans love…

    Like

  4. THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU for posting this one!!  You find the most awesome words to post on your site and they are truly a blessing to us.  I will be passing this along to women, like me, who have ever loved " impossible men".  Bless you and have a great rest of the week. – Theresa

    Like

  5. I love the raw iron and wistful earth in Lady Lucille Clifton’s voice!  Always I find myself moved and blessed by what you share, Brother Ten!
     
    Loving those magnificent poetic voices as they ascend the heavens and ride the tides coast to coast,
    Sister Cat

    Like

  6. My Sister Treese sent me here to read your poem.  Now, I have much to think about.  The poem is lovely, all too familiar……and painful as well but I see in it something for me to think carefully about .
    I like your space and would like to visit often.  ~~HOWLS~~ RobynWolf

    Like

  7. I am also a child of the 60’s.  All too soon, I wil be 53.  I am trying to hold onto that person I was then and finding it harder every day, but when I get home out of the unfeeling crowds and the materialism, I ammyself again adn grateful for it. 
     
    Cheers to what we knew of life in the 60’s.  It WAS great, wasn’t it? 
    ~~HOWLS~~ RobynWolf

    Like

  8. I really love what you’re doing here!

    Like

  9. I enjoy meeting useful information , this post has got me even more info! .

    Like

1 Trackback / Pingback

  1. gestion empresarial

Leave a Reply

