News Ticker

Promise Land


Africa here I stand a black man
in a white man’s promise land.
A creed despised a culture unknown,
from the toil of my people
hath this nation grown.

Africa here I stand
a black man
in a white man’s
promise land.

With the stars and stripes at our side
to perpetuate the American dream
we have fought and died.
But these ideals it seems
to a black man can only be a dream.

Africa here I stand
a black man
in a white man’s
promise land.

Maybe someday
they will open their eyes
and America will realize
that the quality of man
isn’t measured by shade of skin.
But oh dear Motherland until then.

Africa here I stand,
a black man in a white man’s
promise land.

Tenthltr2u (c) 1969


Good Monday Morning Family,
Could this be the dawn of that day I wrote about back in 1969?
Could Barack Obama open their eyes and have America realize
that the quality of man is not measured by shade of skin?

Peace,
Tenthltr2u

About tenthltr2u (1046 Articles)
A child of the 60's I often feel out of place in the world as it exist today. Too much excess, too much materialism, too few people who genuinely care or give a damn. It is only with the heart that one can see rightly; what is essential is invisible to the eye. Antoine de Saint-Exupery

9 Comments on Promise Land

  1. It could very well be so.  I love this poem, and it is so right for the times.  It just goes to show that significant words are timeless.  Very nice.  Peace.

    Like

  2. Thank you wordsmith. This is the first thing I ever wrote.  Sitting in Sudy Hall one day, lamenting the fact that I had just designed an Afrocentric cover for a school publication that I knew would have nothing about us in it.  As for the time being now – it remains to be seen.  I like what Tavis Smiley said – that Barack Obama would at some point have a "Christopher Columbus moment" and discover the real America.  We’ll just have to wait and see.
     
    Thanks for your comment
    Peace,
    Tenthltr2u

    Like

  3. Very powerful piece!! Thank you for sharing it… History is definitely in the making!  Last night proves that something wonderful is happening! For me even if he does not win, Barack Obama has already made a powerful statement that his skin tone is only that. Inside is a strong man with a stong heart and he is capable of being a leader.
    Peace and Love:)

    Like

  4. TruEssence, I could not agree with you more as to his impact on the country in general and our young people in particular.  My daughter has a freind that attends Delaware State and she shared with me a conversation  they had and how inspired he was after Barack’s wife had spoken at the university.  Hopefully the fall out of Obama’s campaign will bring the realization to this country that we are more than athletes and entertainers.
     
    Thanks for your comments,
    Peace – Tenthltr2u

    Like

  5. Nice, very nice! here is to saying it and saying it and saying it again. lovely……………..
    Peace…………….have a great weekend
     

    Like

  6. Maybe the fact that I’ve been around awhile and my skepticisim runs deep but I’m still not convinced that this nation is ready to elect a blackman president.  As I’ve said before, what we say in public and around the water cooler is one thing.  What we do in the privacy of the voting booth is something else.
     
    Peace,
    Tenthltr2u

    Like

  7. And thanks Fabulicious One…..
    Peace and you have a great weekend as well.

    Like

  8. I had to come back on the water cooler comment.  I can’t state any clearer how much I like what Obama has to say.  I don’t flinch or hesitate when it comes to my vote.  He definitely gets my vote.  Like you (having been around and been tempted by skepticism), I can only see the words of any – make that ANY – politician as just that – words.  Until a person is actually in office and we see for ourselves that they are good or bad, their campaign speeches, charisma and promises are nothing more than words.  Obama is no exception.  However, sometimes it seems that you can just tell.  I hope that he is not all words.  I have seen no other candidate that even comes close to capturing not only my vote, but my enthusiasm as well.  Obama rules . . . for now.  See you around in space(s).  Peace.

    Like

  9. Blacksmith, every day my 08 Election Meter leans further and further the direction of Obama.  My concern is what is deeply in the heart of the folks we haven’t heard from.  After the convention and he is the actual candidate for the Democratic party will we discover how deeply racism is rooted in this country or will they have truly opened their eyes to realize that the quality of man transends the color of his skin. For now we have heard from democrats who actually for the first time have a candidate that they can be enthusiastic about.  But there is a whole nother’ America we haven’t heard from.
     
    Peace,
    Tenthltr2u

    Like

Leave a Reply

