News Ticker

Walking Parker Home


Sweet beats of jazz impaled on slivers of wind
Kansas Black Morning/ First Horn Eyes/
Historical sound pictures on New Bird wings
People shouts/boys alto dreams/Tomorrow’s
Gold belled pipe of stops and future Blues Times
Lurking Hawkins/shadows of Lester/realization
Bronze fingers – brain extensions seeking trapped sounds
Ghetto thoughts/bandstand courage/solo flights
Nerve-wracked suspicions of newer sounds and doubts
New York alter city/black tears/secret disciples
Hammered horn pounding soul marks on unswinging gates
Culture gods/mob sounds/visions of spikes
Panic excursions to tribal jazz wombs and transfusions
Heroin nights of birth/and soaring/over boppy new ground.
Smothering rage covering pyramids of notes exploding
Cool revelations/shrill hopes/beauty speared into greedy ears
Birdland nights on bop mountains, windy saxophone revolutions
Dayrooms of junk/and melting walls and circling vultures/
Money cancer/remembered pain/terror flights/
Death and indestructible existenceIn that Jazz corner of life
Wrapped in a mist of sound
His legacy, our Jazz-tainted dawn
Wailing his trumpets of oddly begotten dreams
Inviting the nerveless to feel once more
That fierce dying of humans consumed
In raging fires of Love.

220px-bob_kaufman

Bob Kaufman

No post script, none needed,
Have a great weekend Family
Peace
Tenthltr2u

About tenthltr2u (1039 Articles)
A child of the 60's I often feel out of place in the world as it exist today. Too much excess, too much materialism, too few people who genuinely care or give a damn. It is only with the heart that one can see rightly; what is essential is invisible to the eye. Antoine de Saint-Exupery

5 Comments on Walking Parker Home

  1. None indeed.  That takes me back to my college days.  Peace.

    Like

  2. Lovely…
     
    I just stopped by to say hi and to see what was new in  your world…LOVED the Macy Gray video!!  I had to put it on my space too!  How did you get 3 of my favorite videos all together like that?  Wonderful!! 
     
    School is going great!! 
     
    Be well my dear…
    Theresa

    Like

  3. Wordsmith –
    My little girl went to audition for acceptance to a University Dance Program over the weekend.  I can’t help but think how things were back in the day when we were in college and feel sorry for how much of that she’s gonna miss.  Back then it was about "us" and not so much about "me" as it is today.  Obviously there were some things happen’ then that I want her to avoid but for me those were the best of times.  I only hope she can experience just a little bit of that.  She is a spirited young sister and I think I’ve trained her well but there is no school like "Old School" and Daddy’ s gotta let her go.
     
    Peace,
    Tenthltr2u
     
     

    Like

  4. Thanks Chocolate,
    Hopefully some of Daddy’s old school has rubbed off on her.
    Peace,
    Tenthltr2u

    Like

  5. Brother Ten – I agree with the idea of college being a great time.  I experienced so much and learned so much, and much of that was not in the classroom.  Choc reminded me of the Black Student League.  When I was at Penn, ours was just forming.  We actually ended up with our own brand new low-rise – The W. E. B. Du Boise House.  We had sit-ins, walkouts, and protests against the Vietnam war.  We "partied like it was 1999"!!!  I had an awful dislike for policeman, at the time, but, I had the freedom to stand up to them without being shot at.  Like you, I hope that my daughter will be able to experience at least a little of what I experienced.  Unfortunately, neither her nor my son relished Homecoming weekend!!  For me, there was no better weekend in the entire semester.  Let her go, you’ve given her your best, and she will keep it all in mind.  Peace.

    Like

Leave a Reply

