News Ticker

Dancers


Chick Webb and Billy Strayhorn
moved inside our heads with sound.
They danced with shoes that hit around
invisible points where rhythm is born.Or they moved like rotund ladies.
A delayed bounce, swish, and sway.
rocked you into melody the way
grand moments entices empties.

Inside their world of pitch and tone,
Of vibrato and rhythm, figures danced.
Their thoughts were immaculate, entranced
bodies with crystal eyes, ivory bones.

So even if they stopped, stood still,
before the band, inside their universe
they danced a choreography in verse.
They gave us movement only spirits can feel.

Afaa Michael Weaver

What’s up Family?  Hope you are fully recovered from the Holidays and are ready to dance into the new year if not in spirit maybe in verse.

Peace,
Tenthltr2u

About tenthltr2u (998 Articles)
A child of the 60's I often feel out of place in the world as it exist today. Too much excess, too much materialism, too few people who genuinely care or give a damn. It is only with the heart that one can see rightly; what is essential is invisible to the eye. Antoine de Saint-Exupery

5 Comments on Dancers

  1. With Chick Webb it reminded me of Ella Fitzgerald singing (fronting his band) – Recovered from the holidays (thank God it’s over) – Do you think Christmas Lights are passe’ ?? – Sometimes too many is not a good thing (Lights) – Have a great year! –

    Like

  2. Chocolate_matters,
    I see you as someone who knows who he is and what he’s about.  Having ushered in a few new years myself, I’ve learned that as long as you are true to who you are things will be alright.
    Peace,
    Tenthltr2u

    Like

  3. Sheldon,
    I go thru this every holiday season at my house.  How much is to much? And I lose every year.  Thanks for stopping by and have a great weekend.
    Peace,
    Tenthl2u

    Like

  4. I love stopping by for a few verses.  My soul is always refreshed.  Don’t ever change.  I ushered in the year with peace and solitude.  I am optimistic about the outcome of this year.  I wish you and yours a wonderful year.  Peace.

    Like

  5. Thanks much Blackstarr and chocolate,yeah I’ve seen the Valentine stuff up already.

    Like

Leave a Reply

