News Ticker

I Don’t Know About Reparations

Staff Photo by Liz Condo. Photo shot on 9/20/2007. Trax no. 00008742A / LSU students Courtney Williams, from front left, Earvin Hughes and Jeff Martin gather on the grounds of Jena High after marching there from the LaSalle Parish Courthouse. Reflecting on the rally's large turnout in support of the 'Jena Six' Hughes said, "Black people do actually care and something like this can bring us together."

When I walk down the street
you make sure your
car doors are locked,
you hold your children
closer and cling tighter
to your purse.You remember to have that conversation
with your daughters and shopkeepers
are more vigilant when I walk
through the front door.

The instrument used to terrorize
generations of my forefathers
is now material for school-yard jokesters
and office pranksters.

Every time you lock me up,
you say it’s to make the community
a safer place,
and
you lock me up
with impunity.

I don’t know about reparations…..

But at least pay me
for the public service
I perform.

Tenthltr2u (c) 2007

Peace,
Tenthltr2u

 

About tenthltr2u (1031 Articles)
A child of the 60's I often feel out of place in the world as it exist today. Too much excess, too much materialism, too few people who genuinely care or give a damn. It is only with the heart that one can see rightly; what is essential is invisible to the eye. Antoine de Saint-Exupery

6 Comments on I Don’t Know About Reparations

  1. Here’s a good one for you:  My brother-in-law’s mother (caucasian) is waiting at a traffic light in Salt Lake City when a car with two African American gentlemen pull up along side to stop for the red light.  She reaches over and locks her door.  The gent nearest in the other car reaches up & locks his door in reponse.

    Like

  2. I must admit, I’ve done that a time or two myself

    Like

  3. Great piece!!  I hope you are well my dear!  *blessings* Theresa

    Like

  4. I have been waiting for a while to comment on this.  I was locked out.  This is brilliant, as is your other works.  I really like this one.  Keep it up.  Peace.

    Like

  5. Thanks Blackstarr,
     I really appreciate your remarks probably more than you realize.  This one has been rattling around in my head for sometime and I actually wrote it severaldays ago but was reluctant to post it because some of my recent post have been kinda dark (no pun intended) and retrospective.  Then something happened last Friday at my son’s high school basketball game that made me realize the time was right to put this one ot there.
    Thanks again,
    Peace,
    Tenthltr2u

    Like

  6. When I was a teenager, growing up in Indy, I always knew when there was a new cop on the beat in some of the areas where my father had accounts.  He ran a janitorial service and my younger brother and I worked  for him.  We would get stopped and our van searched for things like not having our plate illuminated.  And the stories go on and on.
     

    Like

Leave a Reply

