News Ticker

A Litany for Survival


For those of us at the shoreline
standing upon the constant edge of decision
crucial and alone
for those of us who cannot induldge
the passing dreams of choice
who love in doorways coming and going
in the hours between the dawns
looking inward and outward
at once before and after
seeking a now that can breed
futures
like bread in our children’s mouths
so their dreams will not reflect
the death of ours:
For those of us
who were imprinted with fear
like a faint line in the center of our foreheads
learning to be afraid with our mother’s milk
for by this weapon
this illusion of some saftey be found
the heavy-footed hoped to silence us
For all of us
this instant and this triumph
We were never meant to survive.
And when the sun rises we are afraid
it might not remain
when the sun sets we are afraid
it might not rise in the morning
when our stomachs are full we are afraid
of indigestion
when our stomachs are empty we are afraid
we may never eat again
when we love we are afraid
love will vanish
when we are alone we are afraid
love will never return
when we speak we are afraid
our words will not be heard
nor welcome
but when we are silent
we are still afraid.
So it is better to speak
remembering
we were never meant to survive.
lorde

Audre Lorde

But we did……
Peace,
Tenthltr2u
About tenthltr2u (1002 Articles)
A child of the 60's I often feel out of place in the world as it exist today. Too much excess, too much materialism, too few people who genuinely care or give a damn. It is only with the heart that one can see rightly; what is essential is invisible to the eye. Antoine de Saint-Exupery

6 Comments on A Litany for Survival

  1. Wow…I do love Audre Lorde!  This poem is so profound.  I wish I had visited your space last Thursday.  I needed these words of inspiration!!  I started a new support group at work and was having my doubts about what I was trying to do.  Even though this is a good thing I received some negative comments from some people who have been here long enough to have formed the group themselves!  God gave me the strength I needed to go on with my first meeting.  The meeting was a great success and good things will come out of it because I fought against that "fear".  *blessings*  Keep doin’ your thing baby 😉

    Like

  2. Fear is an enity all in its self.. it can cripple and consume one..
    be well dear friend.. hugs ~Hope

    Like

  3.  
       Yes we surely did…  
     
        I hope October has been treating you well so far.  Blessings of more good things to come. 
     
     
         Tammy~

    Like

  4. Hey Sweetie…I just heard Tracy Chapman’s voice on a space I visited.  Man…I forgot how good her voice sounded to me…how comforting!  I hope you are having a good week so far! – Theresa

    Like

  5. Hey Sweetie…just stopped by to see what was new in your world.  I hope all is well!  *hugs*

    Like

  6. Hey!  Where ya at sweetie??  Come on back and drop some more knowledge on us!  😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

