News Ticker

To a Dark Girl


I love you for your browness
And the rounded darkness of your breast.
I love you for the breaking sadness in your voice
And the shadows where your wayward eye-lids rest.
Something of old forgotten queens
Lurks in the lithe abandon of your walk,
And something of the shackled slave
Sobs in the rhythm of your talk.
Oh, little brown girl
Keep all you have of queenliness,
Forgetting that you once a slave,
And let your full lips laugh at Fate!
Gwendolyn B. Bennett (1902-1981)
Keep all you have of queenliness… and let your full lips laugh at Fate!
Peace,
Tenthltr2u
About tenthltr2u (1046 Articles)
A child of the 60's I often feel out of place in the world as it exist today. Too much excess, too much materialism, too few people who genuinely care or give a damn. It is only with the heart that one can see rightly; what is essential is invisible to the eye. Antoine de Saint-Exupery

5 Comments on To a Dark Girl

  1. Wow…this poem would make any brown girl feel like a queen!  Beautiful…I will passing this on!  My sisters always need to read words like this.  *blessings*

    Like

  2. That is almost like a Maya Angelo poem.  I can picture her reading it.  It also reminds me of something Oprah Winfrey would recite.  Very nice. 
     
      I hope all is well with you.  Have a great weekend.
     
     
    Tammy~

    Like

  3. What a beautiful and strong felt poem..
    how are you doing ? it got really cold here this weekend.. I am not ready for snow.. but I guess it will come never the less..
    just dropping in to say hi.. give ya a hug.. and to let you know that Essence is back up and running again.. missed my friends.. hope all is well in your corner of the world..
    soft hugs ~Hope

    Like

  4. I love this song!!  😉  Have a good week sweetie!

    Like

  5. Whatever we can do to help

    Like

Leave a Reply

