News Ticker

A Step Away From Them


It’s my lunch hour,
so I go for a walk among the hum-colored cabs.
First, down the sidewalk where laborers feed their
dirty glistening torsos sandwiches and Coca-Cola,
with yellow helmets on.
They protect them from falling bricks, I guess.
Then onto the avenue where skirts are flipping above heels
and blow up over grates.  The sun is hot,
but the cabs stir up the air.
I look at the bargins in the wristwatches.
There are cats playing in the saw dust.
On to Times Square –
where the sign blows smoke over my head,
and higher the waterfall pours lightly.
A Negro stands in a doorway with a toothpick,
languorously agitating.
A blonde chorous girl clicks:
he smiles and rubs his chin.
Everything suddenly honks: it is 12:40
of a Thursday.
Neon in daylight is a great pleasure,
as Edwin Denby would write, as are light bulbs in daylight.
I stop for a cheeseburger at JULIET’S CORNER.
Giulietta Masina, wife of Federico Fellini, e’ bell’ attrice.
And chocolate malted.
A lady in foxes on such a day
puts her poodle in a cab.
There are several Puerto Ricans on the avenue today,
which makes it beautiful and warm.
First Bunny died, then John Latouche, then Jackson Pollock.
But is the earth as full as life was full, of them?
And one has eaten and one walks,
past the magazines with nudes
and posters for BULLFIGHT and
the Manhattan Storage Warehouse,
which they’ll soon tear down.
I used to think they had the Armory Show there.
A glass of papaya juice
and back to work.
My heart is in my pocket,
it is Poems by Pierre Reverdy.
Frank O’Hara (1926 – 1966)
That’s life in the big city.  Be FULL of life. 
 Peace,
Tenthltr2U
About tenthltr2u (1039 Articles)
A child of the 60's I often feel out of place in the world as it exist today. Too much excess, too much materialism, too few people who genuinely care or give a damn. It is only with the heart that one can see rightly; what is essential is invisible to the eye. Antoine de Saint-Exupery

7 Comments on A Step Away From Them

  1. well, I guess one has to live in the city to know  its beauty.. for me.. I cringe.. give me mountians.. open space..trees.. (even bears ) and I am filled with life..
    Nice to see you back.. hope your week will be blessed with the beauty around you.. ~Hope
     
     

    Like

  2. You know… I was THERE as I read the poem… that’s good!
     
    C’ya.
     
    Lori

    Like

  3. Brother Ten:
    Just loving your vibe.  Feeling the music and the words inspire my soul.  Beautiful, beautiful Love keeps those fires burning!! Keep on shining on!
     
    Stay cool like Jazz, yeah,
    Sister Cat

    Like

  4. Just popping in to say hi.. and wish you a wonderful day.. filled with laughter and beauty.. soft hugs ~Hope

    Like

  5. This was fabulous…I can’t get enough of Incognito either 😉  Have an awesome week my dear. – Theresa

    Like

  6. Tenth,
       I am asking people who are on my blog list if they would give me their email address so that I can only allow certain people to view my blog.  I need the addresses in order to allow people to view mine. 
     
      If you are not comfortable with emailing me with your email address, I will understand.  If you do want to be included to view my blog you can write me at SeaPrayer@msn.com
     
      I hope all is well with you. 
     
    Tammy~

    Like

  7. Hey, my Brother:
     
    Just got back from a quick 3-day Jazz vacation, and I caught some awesomely beautiful rays of music, peace and love while in California for a Contemporary Jazz concert.  Got some really great stories to share and will drop you a little note when I post them to my space.  Peace and love make the good things happen!
     
    Keep on shining your Light,
     
    Sister Cat

    Like

Leave a Reply

