News Ticker

Canticle of the Creatures


Most high, all powerful, good Lord
To You be praised, glory and honor
And all blessing.
To You, Most High, do they belong,
And no one is worthy to say Your name.
Be praised, My Lord, with all Your creatures,
Especially Sir Brother Sun,
Who brings us day; and by whom You give us light,
And he is beautiful and radiant with great splendor.
He is a symbol of You, Most High.
Be praiseed, My Lord, for Sister Moon and the Stars
In the sky You formed them beautiful; and precious and clear.
Be praised, My Lord, for Brother Wind,
And for air, cloud and calm all weathers
By which You give creatures sustenance.
Be praised, My Lord, for Sister Water,
Who is very useful and humble and precious and pure.
Be praised, My Lord, for Brother Fire,
By whom night is lighted,
And he is beautiful and merry and robust and strong.
Be praised, My Lord, for Sister Mother Earth,
Who sustains and governs us,
And brings forth diverse fruits and colored flowers and grass.
Be praised, My Lord, for those who pardon for Your love’s sake
And put up with weakness and distress.
Blessed are those who will endure in peace,
For by You, Most High, they wil be crowned.
Be praised, My Lord, for Sister Bodily Death,
From whom no living man can escape.
Woe to those who die in mortal sin,
Blessed those found doing Your most holy will,
For the Second Death will do them no harm.
Praise and bless My Lord and give thanks
And serve Him with deep humility.
St. Francis of Assisi (1181 – 1226)
Peace,
Tenthltr2u
About tenthltr2u (1039 Articles)
A child of the 60's I often feel out of place in the world as it exist today. Too much excess, too much materialism, too few people who genuinely care or give a damn. It is only with the heart that one can see rightly; what is essential is invisible to the eye. Antoine de Saint-Exupery

3 Comments on Canticle of the Creatures

  1. Wow…what an awesome prayer!  Thanks so much for posting this one.  I will tell my friends at church about this one.  This really touched me as I observe Lent.  Bless you and thanks for your visit.  Come check out my space for some but not all of the details of my DC adventure 😉

    Like

  2. just beautifull text 😉 ,grace be with you always in tha peace & Love Rhythm ^^
     
    Hugs
     
    Ghan Legatarius out

    Like

  3. I had to come read this prayer today because it gave me such peace when I read it the first time.  I am going through a difficult time right now and I am so thankful that I have my faith to comfort me and "spaces" like yours where I can go to find peace. Bless you and have a great weekend!

    Like

Leave a Reply

