News Ticker

On the truths of the human experience


Quote

On the truths of the human experience

On Reason and Passion
And the priestess spoke again and said:
Speak to us of Reason and Passion.
And he answered saying:
Your soul is oftentimes a battlefield,
upon which your reason and your judgement
wage war against your passion and your appetite.
Would that I could be the peacemaker in your soul,
that I might turn the discord and the rivalry
of your elements into oneness and melody.
But how shall I, unless you yourselves
be also the peacemakers, nay,
the lovers of all your elements?
Your reason and your passion
are the rudders and the sails of your seafaring soul.
If either your sails or your rudder be broken,
you can but toss and drift,
or else be held at a standstill in mid-seas.
For reason, ruling alone,
is a force confining;
and passion, unattended,
 is a flame that burns to its own destruction.
Therefore let your soul exalt your reason
to heights of passion,that it may sing;
And let it direct your passion with reason,
that your passion may live through its own daily resurrection,
and like the phoenix rise above its own ashes.
I would have you consider your judgement
and your appetite even as you would
two loved guests in your house.
Surely you would not honour
one guest above the other;
for he who is more mindful of one
loses the love and faith of both.
Among the hills,
when you sit in the cool shade of the poplars,
sharing the peace and serentiy
of distant fields and meadows –
then let your heart say in slience,
“God rests in reason.”
And when the storm comes,
and the mighty wind shakes the forest,
and lightening proclaims the majesty of the sky, –
then let your heart say in awe –
“God moves in passion.”
And since you are a breath in God’s sphere,
and a leaf in God’s forest,
you too should rest in reason
and move in passion.
 From – Kahlil Gibran, The Prophet
 
Peace
Tenthltr2u
About tenthltr2u (1037 Articles)
A child of the 60's I often feel out of place in the world as it exist today. Too much excess, too much materialism, too few people who genuinely care or give a damn. It is only with the heart that one can see rightly; what is essential is invisible to the eye. Antoine de Saint-Exupery

6 Comments on On the truths of the human experience

  1. Last night I went to the service for All Saints Day. I go to this service for 2 reasons…..one to hear the hymn that we sang at David’s funeral and two to hear about the saints of the church which is where I often put David. On the way home from church and after Rob served as the acolyte for the evening, he said Uncle David was in church tonight and he was as he always is on this particular night and as he was as I watched Rob serve the Lord as David did so many times before. This is when these two people truly meld into the one person they seem to be so many times. Then the sermon for the evening was that we are to look for the soul inside the people we know, as well as the strangers we see on the street and to find our passion in ourselves through this soul in each of us. After last night I made my decision to once again dig deep and drive myself to find my inner soul and serve my inner passion by going to Rio or Africa to serve the Lord by working in the cardboard box community of Rio or by working with AIDS communities in Africa. Then you write about passion, too. You have forced me to find my passion over again and do what I must do since there is no one in the future who will care what I will do from now until the day I die. So, I have decided that when I’m done making my needed position in the world, then I will serve my passion by serving my Lord and giving my life to His works, since no one else cares where I am, what I do, and why I am there. Thanks for reinforcing that desire.

    Like

  2. Incredible…thanks for stopping by today 😉

    Like

  3. Peace is a precious thing….but when combined with passion…it is divine.

    Like

  4. Attaining such a delicate balance is a formidable task Jay.

    Like

  5. Your very welcome for the link to your space. Sorry it took me so long to get back to you. I truly loved the two entries above. Especially this one because it reminds of what I was taught while in the hospital over the summer. We discussed how you cannot let emotion and logic over take the other. (Only in special circumstances) It was a good reminder for me to read this. Hope your doing well and take care!Amber

    Like

  6. I hope you don’t mind, but I’d really like to use a trackback on this entry. Please let me know if you would like me to take it down if this is not okay.Thanks,Amber

    Like

Leave a Reply

