News Ticker

Shed a Little Light


Quote

Shed a Little Light

From  Hymns In Darkness
 
I met a man once
who had wasted half his life,
 
partly in exile from himself,
partly in a prison of his own making.
 
An energetic man, an active man.
I liked his spirit
and saw no hope for him.
 
Yet, he had the common touch:
he could, for instance, work with his hands.
 
To others, all attentive
To his own needs, indifferent.
 
A tireless social human being,
destined always
to know defeat
like a twin-brother.
 
I saw him cheerful
in the universal darkness
as I stood grimly
in my little light.
 
Nissim Ezekiel (b 1924)
About tenthltr2u (1027 Articles)
A child of the 60's I often feel out of place in the world as it exist today. Too much excess, too much materialism, too few people who genuinely care or give a damn. It is only with the heart that one can see rightly; what is essential is invisible to the eye. Antoine de Saint-Exupery

2 Comments on Shed a Little Light

  1. This is incredibly poignant…I like it. ~Jane~

    Like

  2. Thanks… It struck me when I first read it. Had to share

    Like

Leave a Reply

