News Ticker

A Song For My Son


If you listen you will hear
the voices of your soul
speaking softly in your ear
of inner wealth untold.
If you seek so shall you find
that the thing you most desire,
that precious gift called “peace of mind”
and all that it inspires.
I’m telling you these things, my son
so someday you’ll understand,
how when everything is said and done
to still remain a man.
Be master of your temper
and never let it master you.
And always, son, remember
“to thine ownself be true”
And when peole talk about you
and your so-called friends foresake you,
when your loved ones even doubt you,
and your darkest fears overtake you;
endure what life may bring you,
though painful it may seem,
and when there’s no one left to cling to,
cling tightly to your dream.
And never let your teardrops fall
when others cause you hurt,
learn to walk both proud and tall
though some may think you less than dirt.
Remember all these things, my son,
and someday you’ll understand
that the greatest thing a man can be,
is to truly be a MAN.
by Stanley Germain, Jr.
Los Angeles CA
About tenthltr2u (1036 Articles)
A child of the 60's I often feel out of place in the world as it exist today. Too much excess, too much materialism, too few people who genuinely care or give a damn. It is only with the heart that one can see rightly; what is essential is invisible to the eye. Antoine de Saint-Exupery

3 Comments on A Song For My Son

  1. Wow! This was SO POWERFUL. I am definitely going to copy this and give it to my oldest son who is out there in the world now trying to be the best man he can be. Please pray for him and all the sons of the world.

    Like

  2. Do you mind if I "blog it" ? I would love to share this with others. My son had a very big disappointment this week. He went all the way to Germany to try out for an international team there to be told to come back next year because he missed the cut-off date. He’s such a fine young man. I pray this setback won’t weigh too heavily on him and that he will recover and be strong enough to wait until next year. Check out my family photos when you can so you can see my handsome sons ūüėČ

    Like

  3. My son is an awesome basketball player. You’ll know that when you see his pictures of he and I and him and his brother. Have a good evening and HEY! get a guestbook on here will ya? ūüėČ Go to the mapleleafkideh space for great directions on all kinds of cool things to do with your space. I miss that kid! ūüėČ

    Like

Leave a Reply

